1. Home
  2. /
  3. Academics
  4. /
  5. Transfer Programs
  6. /
  7. Interstate Passport

Interstate Passport

Leeward CC is a member of the Interstate Passport Network, which provides a framework for block transfer of lower-division general education based on learning outcomes in nine areas:

    • Foundational Skills: oral communication, written communication, quantitative literacy
    • Knowledge of Concepts: natural sciences, human cultures, creative expression, human society, and the individual
    • Crosscutting Skills: critical thinking and teamwork/value systems.

Each Network member institution has its own Passport Block—a menu of lower-division general education courses and learning experiences by which a student can earn the Passport. Students who complete our institution’s Passport Block with a minimum grade of “C” or its equivalent in each course or learning experience will be awarded the Passport-Lower Division General Education (Passport-LDGE) by our institution. Those students who later transfer with a Passport to another Network-member institution will have their learning recognized; they will not have to repeat or take additional courses to satisfy lower-division general education requirements in the Passport’s nine areas.

For students the Interstate Passport program offers:

    • An early milestone on the way to a credential.
    • Advance knowledge that lower-division general education learning in the Interstate Passport’s nine areas will be recognized upon transfer to another Network member institution.
    • The potential for faster time to degree, lower cost, less debt, and lower foregone earnings from unduplicated learning.
    • A streamlined transfer process and a greater likelihood of successful transfer and completion.

Participating institutions are listed below. If you’re interested in transferring to any of these colleges, see a counselor to find out how to transfer successfully and take your credits WITH you!

Participating Colleges


    • University of Hawaii at Hilo
    • University of Hawaii at Manoa
    • University of Hawaii West Oahu
    • Chaminade University


    • Air University


    • University of Alaska, Anchorage
    • University of Alaska, Fairbanks
    • University of Alaska, Southeast


    • Arkansas Community College, Batesville


    • Cerritos College
    • College of the Siskiyous
    • East Los Angeles College
    • Los Angeles City College
    • Los Angeles Harbor College
    • Los Angeles Mission College
    • Los Angeles Pierce College
    • Los Angeles Southwest College
    • Los Angeles Trade-Tech
    • Los Angeles Valley College
    • West Los Angeles College


    • Adams State University Colorado
    • Western Colorado University


    • College of Eastern Idaho
    • Northern Idaho College


    • The Chicago School of Professional Psychology


    • Concordia University-Saint Paul


    • Nevada State College
    • Truckee Meadow Community College
    • University of Nevada, Reno


    • New Mexico State


    • Lake Regions State College
    • North Dakota State College of Science
    • University of North Dakota


    • Blue Mountain Community College
    • Western Oregon University


    • Black Hills State University
    • Dakota State University
    • Northern State University
    • South Dakota School of Mines & Technology
    • South Dakota State University
    • University of South Dakota


    • Dixie State University
    • Salt Lake Community College
    • Snow College
    • Southern Utah University
    • The University of Utah
    • Utah State University
    • Utah Valley University
    • Weber State University


    • Washington State University


    • Laramie County Community College
    • University of Wyoming

For more information about the Interstate Passport, including a list of Network member institutions!